Go to cart (0) items [$0.00]
Back to Shop

Click for larger image

Dave's Picks Volume 30: Fillmore East, New York, New York 1/2/70


“Easy Wind”
“The Eleven”

Dave's Picks Volume 30: Fillmore East, New York, New York 1/2/70


Price as configured: $0.00

Be the first to review this product

* Required Fields


Who's up for a revolutionary evolutionary ride? DAVE'S PICKS VOLUME 30: FILLMORE EAST, NEW YORK, NEW YORK 1/2/70 captures the Grateful Dead as they make their first foray from the experimental 60s into their early 70s acoustic Americana period. Yes, this one is a little bit country and a little bit (psychedelic) rock and roll.

When the "Magnificent Seven" - Pigpen on percussion, T.C. on keys - first took the stage on 1/2/70, evidence was clear that the trip was about to take a turn. From their western wears to the twang in Jerry’s “broken-string blues,” it appeared they'd brought the Bakersfield sound to the Big Apple. They worked through much of what would become Workingman's Dead, stunning the crowd with laid-back numbers like "Uncle John's Band," "Casey Jones," and "Black Peter." Just the same, they satisfied 60s stalwarts with magical versions of "Dark Star," "St. Stephen," and "That's It For The Other One." Sonic alchemy, indeed!

DAVE'S PICKS VOLUME 30: FILLMORE EAST, NEW YORK, New York 1/2/70 has been rounded out with a bit of 1/3/70 (the subscribers-only bonus disc features the bulk of 1/3/70). It was recorded by the great Owsley "Bear" Stanley and has been lovingly mastered to HDCD specs by Jeffrey Norman.

DAVE'S PICKS VOLUME 30 is limited to 20,000 individually-numbered copies*.

*Limited to 2 per order. Very limited quantity available.


Mastered to HDCD Specs by Jeffrey Norman
Limited to 20,000
Released on May 3rd, 2019

Track Listing

Disc 1

1. Mason’s Children [6:12]

2. Casey Jones [4:28]

3. Black Peter [12:21]

4. Mama Tried [2:29]

5. Hard To Handle [5:02]

6. Cumberland Blues [5:42]

7. That’s It For The Other One [18:19]

I. Cryptical Envelopment (I) [2:03]

II. Drums [3:58]

III. The Other One [10:07]

IV. Cryptical Envelopment (II) [2:00]

8. Cosmic Charlie [7:06]

9. Uncle John’s Band [7:24]

10. High Time [7:22]


Disc 2

1. Dire Wolf [4:43]

2. Easy Wind [7:49]

3. China Cat Sunflower [4:47]

4. I Know You Rider [4:12]

5. Good Lovin’ [7:24]

6. Me And My Uncle [4:33]

7. Monkey And The Engineer [1:54] 8. Morning Dew [10:00]

9. Big Boss Man [4:24]

10. Dancing In The Street [10:50]

11. St. Stephen [6:14]

12. In The Midnight Hour[9:31]


Disc 3

1. Dark Star [32:12]

2. St. Stephen [9:16]

3. The Eleven [10:28]

4. Turn On Your Lovelight [22:50]