Ace (2023 Remaster) [1LP, Exclusive]
Ace (2023 Remaster) [1LP, Exclusive]

Ace (2023 Remaster) [1LP, Exclusive]

Pre-order included
  • In Stock

Bundle includes:

• Ace (2023 Remaster) [1LP, Exclusive]

• Cassidy (2023 Remaster) - Releases 10/5 - ALAC

• Playing In The Band (2023 Remaster) - Releases 11/10 - ALAC

Custom 180-Gram "High Roller" Pearl White Vinyl

Limited to 5,000

Remixed by Derek Featherstone and mastered by GRAMMY® Award-winning engineer David Glasser

Produced for Release by Bobby Weir and Derek Featherstone

When Bobby started working on ACE at Wally Heider’s Studio in San Francisco in early 1972, he wasn’t planning for the Grateful Dead to be his backing band. It just happened. “I pretty much knew in the back of my mind what would happen,” Weir told Crawdaddy a few months after the sessions. “I go and get the time booked and start putting the material together. Everybody gets wind of the fact I got the time booked and I may be going into the studio. So, one by one, they start coming around…”

It made sense, the band was already familiar with most of the music, having road-tested six of the album’s eight songs, including “Greatest Story Ever Told,” “Mexicali Blues,” and “Playing In The Band,” destined to become one of Weir’s signature tunes. ACE also marked the beginning of Weir’s long-running collaboration with lyricist John Perry Barlow and includes early standouts “Cassidy” and “Looks Like Rain.”

1.             “Greatest Story Ever Told (2023 Remaster)”
2.             “Black-Throated Wind (2023 Remaster)”
3.             “Walk In The Sunshine (2023 Remaster)”
4.             “Playing In The Band (2023 Remaster)”
5.             “Looks Like Rain (2023 Remaster)”
6.             “Mexicali Blues (2023 Remaster)”
7.             “One More Saturday Night (2023 Remaster)”
8.             “Cassidy (2023 Remaster)”